Archive for October 2016

Harlan County Health System Foundation receives $ 75,000 pledge

A local resident, who wishes to remain anonymous, has chosen to donate $75,000 to the Capital Campaign for the proposed new medical clinic. Asked what prompted this generous gift, the donor responded with a two-part answer. One factor was the individual's desire to see Alma grow in the future; not just maintain, but grow! They feel that a modern medical facility is an important part of a thriving community. Related to that was the feeling that this entire community had been good to the donor, and it was an appropriate way to give something back. Noting that it can be difficult to write one large check, the donor found a unique method to be both generous and practical. Purchasing a pre-paid life insurance policy and designating the Capital Campaign as beneficiary fit this giver's personal circumstances.

In addition to the large donations that I have been writing about, I want to let everyone know how much I appreciate the individual contributions that we are receiving from our employees and community members. We have also been receiving individual donations and pledges from many community members and I am very thankful for all the work that is being done both by the Foundation Board, by Kendra, by our employees and volunteers to convince community members that a new clinic for Alma is a worthwhile cause. Currently the total of pledges and donations is $ 527,124.


Left to right: Foundation Board Members Shannon Lynch, Pastor Paul Ferrarone, Jon Davis, Becky McKenzie, Bob Taylor and Foundation Director Kendra Graf. Not pictured are Board members Patrick Calkins, Jennifer Luther, Mildred Calkins and  Jaclyn Daake.


2016 Nebraska Hospital Association Caring Kind Award


Jane Robison, CNA and Ward Clerk at Harlan County Health System has been chosen by her co-workers to receive the 2016 Nebraska Hospital Association Caring Kind Award. Katie Fleischmann, Director of Nursing at Harlan County Health System stated: “Jane is well deserving of this award. She exemplifies the meaning of caring and kindness. We are so fortunate to have her as a member of our team.” Jane has been a member of the HCHS family since November of 2008.

Here is an example of what her co-workers had to say about Jane:

Jane goes above the call of duty without being asked.  She takes time out of her day to bring flowers to patients or gifts to patients on Christmas and tells them it’s from all of the HCHS Staff.  Jane is the type of person who lights the room up with her smile.  She comes to work with a smile on her face and she is always willing to help others, Rather that person is a co-worker or a patient. Jane goes out of her way to purchase personal supplies for patients who may not have such items at their own home.  To nominate Jane is an easy decision as she is one of the most kindhearted, selfless, and giving.  It’s a joy working with her as she makes every day that much better.  She has helped multiple areas of our facility, including nursing staff, office staff, outpatient, and in the kitchen.  She is vital employee and truly one of the most compassionate employees at HCHS.

For more than 30 years, the Nebraska Hospital Association has been honored to bestow awards to Nebraska health care employees that have risen to the top by providing service excellence and dedication to their profession with the caring kind award. These award recipients commit themselves to the betterment of their hospitals and health systems, their customers, their coworkers and their communities. The Caring Kind Awards Luncheon was held on Friday, October 23, at the Embassy Suites Conference Center in La Vista during the NHA Conference

Congratulations to Jane on this very prestigious award.

Past Recipients of the Caring Kind Award

2015 – Candy Bell, 2014 – Karen Wright, RN, 2013 – Judy Mintzmyer, 2012 – Natalie Dietz, 2011 - Theresa Metzger, 2010 - Craig Farlee, 2009 – Sam Dietz, 2008 – Michelle Cole, 2007 – Tonda Ross, 2006 – Rita Stapel, RN, 2005 – Gwen Westerbeck, 2004 – Tereasa Lennemann, RN, 2003 - Janeice Imm, LPN, 2002 - Jana Cochran, CNA, 2001 - Sharee Ring, RN, 2000 - JoAnn Goings, LPN, 1998 - Julie Kresser, 1997 - Ronda Noren, 1996 - Pat Hanson, 1995 - Lynda Lubeck, RN, 1994 - Nursing Assistants and LPNs